September 1, 2011 New pieces from my last “Art Monday” August 29th.

So September begins, and here in St. Louis it feels like the middle of Summer and not near the end of it. Today 97, tomorrow 100…will this never come to an end?

I had a very productive Art Monday this week. Lots of pendants and beads were made. I will post photos of most of the pendants. The beads will show up in necklaces or bracelets in the future.

I learned a new technique of beaded braiding the other evening. The braiding part is “Kumihimo” and as you can probably tell from the name it’s of Japanese origin. I dabbled with it a few years ago. What I learned new was adding beads to the braiding. The set up is a little tiresome but the beaded braiding progresses rather quickly once you get the hang of it. I have two bracelets that will show you the end results. I enjoy the process. I’m working on a necklace that I intend to add a focal bead that I will make from polymer clay. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “September 1, 2011 New pieces from my last “Art Monday” August 29th.

Leave a Reply

